JON 1:13-16 ESV

Nevertheless, the men rowed hard to get back to dry land, but they could not, for the sea grew more and more tempestuous against them. Therefore they called out to the Lord , “O Lord , let us not perish for this man’s life, and lay not on us innocent blood, for you, O Lord , have done as it pleased you.” So they picked up Jonah and hurled him into the sea, and the sea ceased from its raging. Then the men feared the Lord exceedingly, and they offered a sacrifice to the Lord and made vows.

Danger falls upon some innocent men at sea because of Jonah’s disobedience. Doesn’t sound fair but they quickly realize that it must be a spiritual thing. So they cast lots and find out the culprit is Jonah and his God because Jonah mentioned he was running away from God. They tried to beat God’s winds and waves on their own even after Jonah told them to throw him over. When they eventually did, they were amazed and feared God and made vows.

To me that sounds like worship just happened. Out of a tragedy came a God thing that only God could do. Its amazing tk see how a terrifying situation can lead to salvation. TRULY..Anything is possible with God. Even though Jonah disobeyed and ran from God, in the end God still had His way but He influenced and affected those involved. So mindful and detailed is our God!! Merciful and compassionate is He. My heart worships because I see my situation with Carol how I turned away but God’s will still prevailed. Even in Grace’s story about how a hurtful fight with Rick could lead to questions… God move!!

God I am truly amazed at what you are doing in my life and others. I see your power and abilities and they cannot be compared to anybody or anything. God I know I was foolish and disobedient to turn away Carol. I’m sorry and ‘Im thankful God for your patience and compassion on me. Would you help me to not think about the opinions of man.. cast out the complaints  away from me God. I want to please You and You alone. Change their hearts God and continue to change mine. May my sensitivity be strengthened or redirected to others ares but not to the voice of man…may I give no room for that God. Help me Lord. I pray all this in Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

