THANKFUL THURSDAY: Go and Make…

Thursday was originally meant to be the week of celebration. We were celebrating the completion of Chapter 2 in our study-just like we normally planned on doing after every 5 weeks of study. But God had a different plan for this 6th week.

On August 24 I felt the need to call Jina and FINALLY (mind you this was a long time of hesitation and just waiting) invite her to consider becoming a CG (community group) leader and multiplying our group of 9 (including me). Multiplying a group was always considered a far off idea because finding leaders to lead the new birthed group is really..impossible. But Jesus said in Luke 18:27

He replied, “What is impossible for people is possible with God

Never thought it was be this possible and quick.

We realized that what God was pressing upon my heart..He was also doing a work and impressing upon Jina’s heart the call to step up and serve. I remember giving a HUGE sigh of relief.

“Why did I hesitate? Why did I doubt so much silly Judy.”

One thing led to another and Denise was on board to support Jina in her role as a CG leader through admin support. DONE.

I felt like pinching myself. The idea of multiplication was always a closed door but to experience it happening so quickly and smoothly. *pinch pinch pinch* Along with anxiety and excitement came my flesh creeping up with doubts, 2nd doubts, 3rd doubts and fears.

2 days before our celebration, God’s word just comforted me so much!

Ezekiel 17:22-24 NLT

โ€œThis is what the Sovereign lord says: I will take a branch from the top of a tall cedar, and I will plant it on the top of Israelโ€™s highest mountain. It will become a majestic cedar, sending forth its branches and producing seed. Birds of every sort will nest in it, finding shelter in the shade of its branches. And all the trees will know that it is I, the lord , who cuts the tall tree down and makes the short tree grow tall. It is I who makes the green tree wither and gives the dead tree new life. I, the lord , have spoken, and I will do what I said!โ€

Although He’s speaking about God’s people and the coming of the Messiah, my heart wanted to pray :

” I pray and hope that likewise how the LORD took a new twig, He will take this new CG twig and plant it where it will flourish and grow. Where many birds will nestle in the tree and those around will confidently be able to say that it is truly God who grew this CG. He took a seed from the first one and it has grown. That God would take glory and praise not only from our lips but from those around. I pray He will fulfill a promise like this for both the CGs.”

Our Celebration evening was not just for committing and finishing a chapter but to also celebrate/announce the final details of our CG multiplying. One last Hoorah together before we begin meeting as two CGs. After sharing who will go to which group, I expected questions and questions but thankfully (?) nobody really asked which I praise God for. What each person is thinking- I am not sure but all I know is …this is happening folks! God be glorified please!

 

I would hope these ladies would experience the power of Jesus more and more in their lives as we continue to study. That Jina would become a disciple who makes other disciple-making disciples….

 

First time going to NRB with a small group. A bunch of closet Karoake Queens here. Wonderful talent both in singing and dancing!

 

 

Man we sang “End of the Road” with all we had left….

 

What an evening…

I can’t wait what’s next.

 

3 comments

  1. Aww, that’s beautiful. Demonstrating and guiding others to become servant leaders is a wondrous gift of God- indeed, I didn’t understand the great commission to “make disciples” until I moved to my current church where my pastor really challenged me to consider how one leads a life of a disciple maker. May God continue to shine wisdom upon you as you think and pray for the future of your group.

  2. this looks like a lot of fun. ๐Ÿ™‚ i don’t remember the last time i had an all girls fellowship. so awesome to hear God is raising up new disciples who will be disciple makers. ๐Ÿ™‚ i guess the multiplication is pretty hard in most churches. i was actually surprised at this church we visited every once in a while in LA. the first time we went there they did a prayer to send off half the church to be a church in another more ghetto side of town.. and the church wasn’t very big to begin with so the numbers shrunk like crazy.. and the pastor spoke on how these days we’re so focused on getting numbers up we forget that it’s about multiplying and spreading out. never seen that happen before.

    1. I didn’t think of multiplication this way but this line hit me hard: “To avoid becoming stagnant or “dying from complacency” “Any species that doesn’t give birth to a new generation dies” Not multiplying becomes counter to the mission of God.” It’s not easy but it does breath life . =)

Leave a Reply

