WEEKEND REVIEW: Serving with Pathwayonians

This past weekend my husband went on a short roadtrip to SoCal with a brother to celebrate their “Tax freedom”. The poor guy was clocking in crazy hours at work for the Tax extension and he invited JP to go on a Food Binge Trip to LA. Which means…I have lots of time to do lots of things. =D

 SATURDAY

5:45AM: OCC East Bay Garage Sale

This Saturday was OCC’s 1st Fundraiser: East Bay/Union City Garage Sale. We bumped the start time to 7am and end time to noon based off of previous garage sale patterns. Woke up at 5:45am to pick up a new brother at Pathway who volunteered to help out: Allen Han. I saw him at church before and thought he was Japanese. He had his helmet and red “trick” bike tied to the light pole.  He had his donated items of fishing poles, a skateboard and other small items. Great conversation just getting to know one another on our drive up to the East Bay. Seems like such a kind-hearted brother who was rescued by God  from a lot of dangerous and bad moments in life. Looking forward to hearing more of his story.

You would think most Garage Sale professionals would be there 8am sharp to swoop in for all the good stuff but I guess Union City runs on a different clock. Filipino Time. By 9am we had only 2-3 customers. Confused!!!

 

 

I had to leave for a CIC 2013 Reunion but I was informed that they ended up doing a “Bag for 5” deal which meant they could stuff a plastic or paper bag with anything they wanted for $5. The crowd went wild folks! =) Great news! At the end of the day they raised over $450.00!! WOOHOOT!

 

10:00AM: CIC 2013 Reunion at HK Saigon (Dim Sum)

Rushed over and got lost but finally joined the 2013 CIC team for a reunion over Dim Sum. By the time I got there they were seated and “taking a break” from stuffing their faces. I was starving. All I had was coffee & hashbrowns. I was ready for some REAL food!

DIM SUM YUM!

DIM SUM YUM!

It was great just sitting at a table with these folks.  Spent Christmas with them in SE Asia, sharing the real story of Christmas and the Good News of Jesus Christ. 1 year later we’re sending our next team, reflecting on the memories and sharing our hopes for 2014 CIC. Although 4 out of 5 attend Pathway, we don’t really get a chance to sit down and catch up on the day to day stuff.

 

 

The busy restaurant behind us

The busy restaurant behind us

 

Some of my souvenirs from our 2013 trip. Can’t show too much unfortunately. =)

 

I have a heart for this country and this year my husband gets to go with the fellowship of the Pathway Bromance. LOL. So grateful I got to go in 2012 and 2013. Praying..MAD PRAYING that what God revealed to my heart will be revealed to this team. MAD MAD Praying that the desires He has given me..will be also given to my husband’s heart as well.

4:15pm Run Errands at the Mall

With my husband going this year, I wanted to prepare some gifts to send over to our partnering team. I had dinner & dessert plans with some former CG ladies at 6:00pm so I wanted to get a slight head start. What was meant to be dinner & dessert event became the longest time I’ve probably spent in the mall. (I don’t enjoy the mall at all)  Hung out with Thuy & Margaret in the Food Court followed by Mealtop. I was really looking forward to experiencing it and it was “okay”. I think I’m just fobby and enjoy the original Korean shaved ice. Mealtop is definitely catering the mouths of “non-koreans/asians” but nonetheless it was a nice time to catch up and see where God is leading them and the plans they have made.

 

Our time ended a bit shorter than usual so Thuy and I continued shopping for baby clothes to send. We split off and I made a 2nd trip to visit my dongseng, David. Love this brother. He’s the younger brother I would totally want and sometimes..not want =P. Watching him sweat and hustle in this narrow kiosk made me feel super proud of him. Making curly fries & fries all day is no joke. Plus he’s managering 3 below him. 멋있다 동생!!

20141018_173333

I thought I’d hang out with him when he’s done with work so I ordered a small order of fries and stuck around. He signaled me over and asked me if I could do a HUGE favor for him. “Uh oh..”

He needed to buy a gift for a close brother at his home church and his budget was $$. CHA CHING! DID I HEAR A CHALLENGE? The mall closes at 9:00pm and it was 8:35pm when he told me. I quickly collected as much details about this unknown man and I jetted off. It was fun!  A bit nerve-racking because time was short but it the end it all worked out. Plus! I was under his budget. *pat on shoulder* yes. Yes! SUCCESS!

 

SUNDAY

Worship with the Body of Believers

I love worshiping with the body of believers. Our pastor was off for this Sunday but our intern pastor Jennard was preaching up a message that wasn’t the most easiest to hear and especially do. He was preaching on James 5:13-19.

13 Is anyone among you in trouble? Let them pray. Is anyone happy? Let them sing songs of praise. 14 Is anyone among you sick? Let them call the elders of the church to pray over them and anoint them with oil in the name of the Lord. 15 And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise them up. If they have sinned, they will be forgiven. 16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

17 Elijah was a human being, even as we are. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years. 18 Again he prayed, and the heavens gave rain, and the earth produced its crops.

19 My brothers and sisters, if one of you should wander from the truth and someone should bring that person back,20 remember this: Whoever turns a sinner from the error of their way will save them from death and cover over a multitude of sins.

 

The community is meant to be a place where healing takes place. But based on James 5:16, that healing takes place when we confess our sins and pray for one another.  But it’s hard to open up to folks, even if you’re in the same community group. Some of the take away points I was reminded of were:

  • Confession of sins must be done with wisdom & discernment. Although James 5:14 speaks of the elders, it doesn’t necessarily mean “old” but more of a spiritually mature believer. There are believers who may not be able to handle our confessions well. We must be careful.
  • When we are in Christ Jesus, we are that “righteous person”-clothed and made right with God. (Not to be confused with unconfessed sin.)

1 John 1:9.

I believe many don’t believe in this verse which leaves a lot of Christians who say they are born again—crippled, handicapped and in the jaws of guilt, shame and condemnation.

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleans us of all unrighteousness. ”

 

I really with our community of believers would trust “until proven guilty” and share to experience the power of James 5:16

 

 

Leave a Reply

