Where the struggle becomes real..

Technically 46 days..Here we go~~

Technically 46 days..Here we go~~

Today is first day of Lent.Today is the first time I will be fasting from multiple social media sites/apps. It’s 1:02pm and the struggle is already very very real.

I initially took a break from blogging after becoming busy from CIC and OCC prep for JP but I think I will need an outlet to record my thoughts, observations and emotions of this year’s Lent–before I forget.

How am I doing this SMFast?

I decided to stay on Instagram because I have better control over what content I want to see compared to Twitter, Facebook and Google+. If there was one outlet I would want to share my struggles and victories during this SMF, Instagram is the simplest viewing form of SM- IMO.

I will be fasting from the following sites/apps: Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, QQ and Google+

In place of Social Media I am committing to:

1. Spending more time reading the Bible and praying instead of looking at my phone.

2. Be involved and be “there” instead of looking at my phone.

The most difficult of all is Youtube cause I use it every night as a way to slow my brain down and bring it to sleep. I admit that when I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t fall asleep, it’s the first app I open to “preoccupy” my brain back to sleep. It works..sadly.

How am I feeling/doing so far?

I feel weird and at the same time I am trying to keep a conscious watch over my habits and (addictive) behaviors throughout the day.

1. Checking my phone quite often. (I’m tallying every time I lift my stinking phone)

I went to lunch with Miso today and I picked up my phone 2 times (which is a miracle) during the meal. Once to check the time and again to check Instagram. I had to log into Facebook mobile once to have Miso change my password in case my sneaky self tries to log in on the desktop version. It’s really weird not seeing the blue Facebook icon on my screen. I’ve had to log back into majority of my apps that used Facebook as a login. I didn’t know just how much I used or relied on Facebook to login to so many of these apps or websites.

So odd. So weird. Facebook what have you done to me?

So odd. So weird. Facebook what have you done to me?

The real struggle will come at night. But..

I am hopeful and resolved to get through these 40/46 days  with a stronger and healthier relationship with my Lord and Savior. “To know Him more and experience the mighty power that raised Him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death.” (Phil 3:10)

Paul said to Felix and his accusers: “Therefore, I always exercise and discipline myself-mortifying my body, deadening my carnal affections, bodily appetites, and worldly desires, endeavoring in all respects- to have a clear, unshaken and blameless conscience, void of offense toward God and toward men.” (Acts 24:16 AMP)

Convicting.

He is worthy. Have Your way in me O Lord.

Leave a Reply

